Rules Forum

News Archives:

4-25-03, Despite a Steady Drizzle, Race Goes On !

If anybody told you Ronnie LeFever and Thunder Valley didn't have their hearts in making Thunder Valley the place to be on Friday night, this past Friday should prove them wrong.
Despite a steady drizzle almost the entire night, the program went on and fans were treated to some very good racing. The track held up great even with all the rain it has taken on in th epast few weeks.
In the Stock Four division, Greg Davis and Seth McKinney were side by side as they completed lap one. McKinney grabbed the lead coming off turn four on lap 2 followed by Davis, Trent Chatham and Josh Ledford. It was a great four car battle for several laps before McKinney spun coming out of turn four and was unable to continue. Greg Davis went on to take the win followed by Ledford, Chatham, Ronnie Johnson and Shannon Barnhill.
In the Limited Sportsman division Steve Greene picked up the win over Scott Tessner, David Clay, Josh Robbins and Alex Clay. Green had put some distance on Tessner when a lap car slowed down the leader giving Tessner's 3 car a chance to gain ground. But Steve Greens was too much on this night.
In the Limited Late Models $2,000 to win, Jeremy Clements and Dennis "Rambo" Franklin ran side by side for 4 laps in heat one before Rambo slid high in turns 1 and 2 giving Clements the lead and the win. In heat 2 Clint Elkins grabbed the early lead. Ricky Weeks caught up to Elkins and the two battled hard for several laps before Weeks slipped coming out of 2 and Elkins picked up the win.
In the main event, Clements grabbed the lead but not without pressure from Rambo, who started inside row 2. Rambo put the car on the bottom of the track and tried to slid under the familar orange and black 51. As they completed lap one, it was Clements, Franklin, Elkins, Weeks and Sanders. They put on a good race until Elkins broke something and cut a tire down. This put Franklin back on Clements rear bumper for yet another attempt at a inside pass. It was not to be as Clements picked up the win over Franklin, Sanders, Weeks and Billy Thompson.
Trent Chatham kept up his winning ways in the Modified Four division. He was followed to the line by Mike Ledford, Stacy Brock, Tim Bristol and Brian Easler.
Shane Harris won in the Stock Eight division over previous winner Tim Smith. Chris Stowe was third with John Bell and Ken Murphy rounding out the top five.
Ricky Fox won in the Rookie Four division. He had to hold off Brandy Pringle as she made her first appearance of the year in her new bright yellow #25, she has nicknamed "Sunshine". Pringle was second followed by Brian Stang, Gerg Colvin and Brad Jennings.
The Southern All-Stars will be at Thunder Valley this week for what should be another great night of racing. All other divisions will also be on hand, so make your plans now to attend one of the smoothest, fastest tracks in the South.
Posted by Bruce N. Camp

Powered by
Wayne Clayton
© 2014

This web site was created for Thunder Valley Speedway by Wayne Clayton. All materials, both visual and written, are property of Thunder Valley Speedway and Wayne Clayton. Duplication, replication, or other un-authorized use of this web site, or materials within are strictly prohibited. Where applicable, violations will be prosecuted to the fullest extent possible under law.